The Five Stages of Grief

Grief is a universal experience that we all encounter at some point in our lives.

It can be triggered by the death of a loved one, the loss of a job, the end of a relationship, or any significant change that disrupts our sense of normalcy. While grief is deeply personal and unique to each individual, there are common stages that many people go through as they navigate the complex emotions of loss and begin the process of healing.

The Origins of the 5 Stages of Grief

In 1969, Swiss-American psychiatrist Elisabeth Kubler-Ross introduced the concept of the five stages of grief in her groundbreaking book, “On Death and Dying.” Drawing from her extensive work with terminally ill patients, Kubler-Ross identified these stages as a way to understand and cope with the emotional challenges that arise when facing death. Over time, her model has been adapted and applied to various forms of loss beyond death, such as divorce, job loss, and other life-altering events.

Stage 1: Denial – Numbing the Pain

The first stage of grief is denial, which serves as a defense mechanism to protect us from the overwhelming shock and pain of loss. During this stage, it is common to have difficulty accepting the reality of the situation. We may find ourselves pretending that the loss hasn’t occurred or carrying on with our lives as if nothing has changed. Denial provides us with time to gradually process the news and begin to come to terms with our new reality. However, as we move out of the denial stage, the emotions we have been suppressing will begin to surface, and we will be confronted with the full weight of our sorrow.

Stage 2: Anger – Unleashing the Emotions

Anger is a natural response to grief and often serves as a protective shield, masking the underlying pain and sadness. It is common to direct anger towards various targets, including the person who died, ourselves, or even inanimate objects. The intensity of anger can vary from feelings of bitterness or resentment to outright fury or rage. It is important to remember that anger is not inherently bad; it is a way for us to express our pain and cope with our loss. As the anger subsides, we can begin to think more rationally about what has happened and allow ourselves to feel the underlying emotions we have been avoiding.

Stage 3: Bargaining – Seeking Control in the Midst of Loss

Bargaining is a stage of grief characterized by a desire to regain control or influence the outcome of the loss. It often involves making “if only” or “what if” statements, as we try to find ways to undo or change the circumstances that led to our loss. During this stage, religious individuals may also seek solace by making promises or deals with a higher power in hopes of finding relief from their grief. Bargaining is a defense mechanism that allows us to postpone the full weight of sadness, confusion, and hurt that comes with loss.

Stage 4: Depression – Navigating the Depths of Sadness

Depression is a stage of grief where the full weight of the loss begins to deeply affect our emotional well-being. It is a period of intense sadness, loneliness, and reflection. While anger and bargaining may feel more active, depression often feels like a quieter and more introspective stage. We may isolate ourselves from others as we process and come to terms with our grief. It is important to note that depression during grief is a normal and appropriate response to loss, but if it becomes prolonged or interferes with our daily functioning, seeking professional help may be necessary.

Stage 5: Acceptance – Finding Peace and Moving Forward

Acceptance does not mean being okay with the loss or forgetting about it. Instead, it signifies reaching a point of understanding and acknowledging the new reality of our lives. Acceptance is a gradual process that allows us to integrate our loss into our sense of self and move forward with our lives. It doesn’t mean that we will never feel sadness or experience moments of grief; rather, it means that we have learned to live with our loss and find ways to remember our loved ones with love and gratitude.

The Fluidity of the Stages of Grief

It is important to remember that the stages of grief are not rigid or linear. They are not meant to be experienced in a specific order, nor is it necessary to go through each stage in its entirety. Grief is a highly individualized experience, and people may move back and forth between stages or experience them simultaneously. Additionally, some individuals may skip certain stages altogether. The stages of grief serve as a framework to help us understand and navigate our emotions, but they should not be seen as a checklist to be fulfilled.

The Importance of Seeking Support

Grief can be an isolating experience, but it is crucial to remember that support is available. Whether it is through close friends and family, support groups, counseling, or therapy, reaching out for help can provide valuable assistance during the grieving process. Connecting with others who have experienced similar losses can offer comfort, understanding, and validation. It is also essential to practice self-care, allowing yourself space and time to heal at your own pace.


Grief is a complex and deeply personal journey that encompasses a range of emotions and experiences. The five stages of grief – denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance – provide a framework to understand and navigate the challenges of loss. However, it is important to remember that grief is not a linear process, and individuals may experience these stages differently or in varying orders. Seeking support and practicing self-care are crucial elements in healing and finding a way to move forward while honoring the memories of our loved ones. Remember, there is no right or wrong way to grieve, and it is essential to be patient and compassionate with ourselves as we navigate this profound journey of loss and healing.

Questions? We Can Help.

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.